Posted 27 days ago

Cricket Men's T20 World Cup 2024

Your Guide to T20 World Cup 2024: Timings, Venues, and More FAQs

Your Guide to T20 World Cup 2024: Timings, Venues, and More FAQs
0 0 0 67 0

The ICC is gearing up for the 9th edition of the ICC T20 World Cup 2024, featuring the Men’s National Teams. West Indies and the USA will be hosting this exciting tournament. Mark your calendars for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024, scheduled from 1st to 29th June 2024.

Here are the key details about the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

Host Countries: West Indies and USA

Dates: 1st to 29th June 2024

Exploring the ICC T20 World Cup: An Introduction

The ICC T20 World Cup stands out as one of cricket's top international tournaments, where national teams from across the globe vie for the coveted title of T20 world champions. 

Organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC), this tournament draws in a massive global audience with its thrilling matches and fierce rivalries between nations.

Inside the ICC T20 World Cup Format

The ICC T20 World Cup usually starts with group stages, where teams are divided into groups and play against each other in a round-robin format. 

The top teams from each group then move on to the knockout rounds, including the semifinals and the final match, to determine the tournament winner.

Destination T20 World Cup 2024: Host Cities Revealed

The upcoming T20 World Cup in 2024 will be hosted jointly by the West Indies and the USA, marking the first major ICC tournament to be held in the USA. 

Previously, the West Indies have hosted two men's World Cups, one in 2007 for the 50-over format and another for T20 in 2010. Additionally, the Caribbean has also hosted two women's T20 World Cups in the past.

Unveiling the Venues for T20 World Cup 2024 Matches

The T20 World Cup in 2024 is set to take place at nine different venues. Matches will be held in Dallas and Bridgetown, along with Providence, New York, Lauderhill, North Sound, Gros Islet, Kingstown, and Tarouba.

Spotlight on T20 World Cup 2024 Participants

The T20 World Cup 2024 will feature a record 20 teams. Besides hosts West Indies and USA, the top eight teams from the 2022 edition have automatic qualification: England, Pakistan, India, New Zealand, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Australia, and Netherlands. 

Afghanistan and Bangladesh also qualified based on their rankings.

Ireland and Scotland earned their spots through the European qualifier, while Canada triumphed in the Americas qualifier. Nepal and Oman progressed from Asia, and Namibia and Uganda qualified from Africa. Papua New Guinea secured their place by winning the East Asia-Pacific qualifier.

Decoding the Knockout Matches in T20 World Cup 2024

The knockout matches in the T20 World Cup 2024 are scheduled with specific timings and reserve days. 

The first semi-final and the final have 190 minutes of additional time and reserve days. However, the second semi-final doesn't have a reserve day due to the short gap between that match and the final. 

Instead, it has 250 minutes of additional time to allow for a result. 

India is slated for the second semi-final if they advance to the knockouts.

Champions of the Men's T20 World Cup: Past Winners Revealed

Seven teams have tasted victory in the men's T20 World Cup over the years. India clinched the inaugural title in 2007, marking a historic start to the tournament. Since then, West Indies and England have emerged as the most successful teams, each winning the trophy twice. 

Notably, England is the defending champion, adding to their impressive T20 World Cup record.

Here is the full list of winners:

2007 - India, 2009 - Pakistan, 2010 - England, 2012 - West Indies, 2014 - Sri Lanka, 2016 - West Indies, 2021 - Australia, 
2022 - England


Event Calendar

Mar 28
28 Mar 2024 - 29 Sep 2024 Major League Baseball Season
Jun 1
1 Jun 2024 - 29 Jun 2024 Icc Men's T20 World Cup
Jun 14
14 Jun 2024 - 14 Jul 2024 Uefa Euro
Jun 15
15 Jun 2024 - 25 Jun 2024 Ofc Nations Cup
Jun 20
20 Jun 2024 - 14 Jul 2024 Copa América
View All Events