Posted 8 months ago

Cricket ICC Men's World Cup 2023

Take a look at the previous 12 editions of the elite tournament - Cricket World Cup.

Take a look at the previous 12 editions of the elite tournament -  Cricket World Cup.
1 0 1 200 0

The 13th edition of the ODI Cricket World Cup will be played in India from October 5 to November 19, 2023. 

The opening match of the 2023 50-overs World Cup will be the rematch of the 2019 final, i.e., England vs. New Zealand at the 132,000-capacity Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

The tournament was initially introduced in England in 1975 and involved a set of one-day matches where each side played for 60 overs.

In 1987, it was hosted in India and Pakistan, marking the first time it was held outside of England. Additionally, the number of overs played per side was shortened to 50 in the 1987 tournament.

Australia achieved a remarkable feat in 2007 by becoming the first team to win three consecutive World Cup tournaments out of the twelve held to date. With five victories in total, Australia is the most successful country in the history of the tournament.

India and West Indies are the only other countries to have won the World Cup more than once, with two victories each. India emerged as a winner in 1983 and 2011, while West Indies claimed victory in 1975 and 1979.

The most recent World Cup, held in 2019, was won by England. 

Here is a compilation of the champions of the ODI Cricket World Cup or the ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List.


The West Indies became the first-ever world champions as they beat Australia by 17 runs in the final at Lord’s.

Eight teams took part in the inaugural tournament, where matches consisted of 60 overs an innings and used a red ball.

The Windies won all three matches in their group, beat New Zealand in the semi-final and were then fired to victory in the final by a century from captain Clive Lloyd.


Four years later, the West Indies successfully defended their title with England this time the defeated finalists at Lord’s.

Viv Richards’ unbeaten 138 saw the defending champions set the hosts 287 to win and Joel Garner took five for 38 to help bowl England out for 194 as the Windies sealed back-to-back crowns.


India had won just a single match in the first two tournaments but claimed their first title in the third as they beat the West Indies at Lord’s to put a new name on the trophy.


The first World Cup to be held outside of England saw India and Pakistan team up as hosts, and there was a new champion as Australia claimed their first title.

Both hosts topped their group but it was Australia and England who faced off in the final, when David Boon top-scored with 75 as Australia’s 253 proved an insurmountable tally for England to chase in the first 50-over tournament.


The first tournament to be hosted in Australia saw Pakistan earn their first title, as they comfortably beat England in the final of the first ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup to feature coloured clothing.

A captain’s innings of 72 from Imran Khan helped Pakistan to a total of 249 which England looked well-placed to chase before Wasim Akram dismissed Allan Lamb and Chris Lewis in consecutive balls.


Sri Lanka became the fourth new champions in a row, and the first victorious hosts, as they comfortably beat Australia in the final of the first 12-team tournament.


Australia joined the West Indies on two World Cup titles as they beat Pakistan at Lord’s in a tournament hosted across five nations.

Co-hosts England and Scotland both crashed out at the group stage, with matches also held in Dublin, Cardiff and Amstelveen.

The final was a more one-sided affair, with Australia winning by eight wickets after Shane Warne’s four for 33 helped dismiss Pakistan for just 132.


Australia retained their crown in South Africa, winning all their matches in the group stage and Super Six, including a win over co-hosts Kenya, who reached the semi-finals for the first time.

Ricky Ponting’s 140 not out helped set India 360 to win in the final, which ultimately proved 125 runs too many despite a fine 82 from Virender Sehwag.


Australia completed an unprecedented hat-trick of victories as they stormed to a third consecutive title in the West Indies.

The new 16-team format saw four groups of four, with Australia breezing through theirs and continuing their form into the Super Eight stage with seven wins from seven.


India became just the second hosts to win the World Cup on home soil as they overcame co-hosts Sri Lanka to claim a second title.

After ending Australia’s pursuit of a fourth straight title in the quarter-finals, India beat rivals Pakistan by 29 runs in the last four.

Mahela Jayawardene’s 103 not out meant India were 275 to win in the final and knocks of 97 from Gautam Gambir and 91 not out from M.S. Dhoni sealed victory with 10 balls to spare as the players carried Sachin Tendulkar around the Wankhede Stadium.


A second all-co-host final in succession saw Australia beat New Zealand at the MCG to regain their crown.

The Black Caps shone in the group stage, winning all their matches including a thrilling one-wicket victory over Australia in Auckland.


Following the most dramatic final to date, England won their maiden title after edging New Zealand on boundary countback after the sides were tied after both 50 overs and a Super Over.

Both finalists lost three games in the group stage, progressing in third and fourth place, but won their semi-finals to guarantee a new champion would be crowned at Lord's.

ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List: Number of World Cup for Countries

Australia holds the record for being the most successful team in the ICC ODI World Cup, having won the tournament 5 times and been the runner-up twice.

India and West Indies have both won the World Cup title 2 times after Australia.

The latest ICC ODI Men’s World Cup was held in England and Wales in 2019, and it marked the first time that England had won the tournament. Below is a breakdown of the countries that have won the ODI Cricket World Cup.


Event Calendar

Mar 28
28 Mar 2024 - 29 Sep 2024 Major League Baseball Season
Jun 1
1 Jun 2024 - 29 Jun 2024 Icc Men's T20 World Cup
Jun 14
14 Jun 2024 - 14 Jul 2024 Uefa Euro
Jun 15
15 Jun 2024 - 25 Jun 2024 Ofc Nations Cup
Jun 20
20 Jun 2024 - 14 Jul 2024 Copa América
View All Events