Posted 8 months ago

Cricket General

Virat Kohli: 40 ODI Centuries in Winning Matches

Virat Kohli: 40 ODI Centuries in Winning Matches
1 0 1 115 0

Scoring a Century is anytime a special moment for Batsmen! But, it is more special when those Centuries contribute to the team’s victory. It’s a different thing altogether.

A century from a batter in white-ball cricket can help his team win the game. There are some batters who love scoring runs when the team is under pressure so that they can take their team to the winning position and also score to achieve their own milestone. 

Previously, India legend Sachin Tendulkar held the record for most ODI centuries and has scored 49 hundred in 50-over cricket out of which 33 centuries have been scored for winning cause.

Meanwhile, Virat Kohli is another player with the most ODI centuries. He has amazed with overall 48 centuries out of which 40 centuries has been scored for winning cause.

It is not surprising that the two ‘Master Indian Batsmen’ lead the chart for the maximum centuries in winning ODI matches.

Sachin Tendulkar and Virat Kohli are currently the only two batsmen to have 30+ ODI Centuries coming in winning cause.

Players with the Most Centuries in winning cause:

1. Virat Kohli – 40 ODI Centuries in winning cause

The former Indian skipper Virat Kohli has already surpassed in terms of record with the most ODI centuries in the winning cause. 

Virat has been going strong for the last 14 years, and 50-over cricket is his best format. He has already scored 48 ODI centuries, and many more are still to come. 

Out of his 48 hundreds, he had scored 40 centuries when India won the game. His chance of winning is 81 percent. His number will certainly improve as he has a few more years of cricket left in him.

2. Sachin Tendulkar – 33 ODI Centuries in winning cause

Sachin Tendulkar is at the top of the chart for the highest ODI centuries. He has scored a total of 49 ODI centuries and has done so against all opponents and in all kinds of conditions. 

He has also scored centuries when his team is in trouble. Sometimes they have won, while some centuries have also come when India has lost. 

Out of his 49 centuries, Sachin has scored 33 hundreds when India won the game, which is 63 percent.

3. Ricky Ponting – 25 Centuries in winning cause

Former Australian skipper Ricky Ponting is third on the list. 

Ponting is the only captain in history to have led his country to successive ODI World Cup wins in 2003 and 2007. 

He scored 30 centuries in 365 innings during his 17-year-old long career. 

Overall, he scored 25 centuries when Australia won the game, which is around 83 percent, which shows how impactful he was for his country.

4. Hashim Amla – 24 Centuries in winning cause

Hashim Amla was certainly one of the best batsmen ever produced by South Africa. He was the most consistent player for his country across all formats.

Amla scored 27 centuries in 181 games during his career for his country, and 24 of them came when South Africa won the game. He has the best winning percentage (89%) when he scores an ODI century.

5. Sanath Jayasuriya – 24 Centuries in winning cause

Former Sri Lanka opener Sanath Jayasuriya was the most impactful player for his country in his era. He was a destructive opener who could win games with his bowling as well. 

But especially with his bat, he won many matches on his own. 

Jayasuriya scored 28 centuries in 445 ODIs in his 22-year-old career, and out of those 28, 24 centuries came in the winning cause. The winning percentage was 86 when he scored centuries.


Virat Kohli, who already holds the top rank in multiple chasing records by a huge lead, is shining here too.

And, he is not done yet. It is also safe to say, he is just at the mid-point of his career.

With ODI leagues and more Cricketing days to come, I am curious to see the numbers at which Kohli ends up his career.


Event Calendar

Mar 28
28 Mar 2024 - 29 Sep 2024 Major League Baseball Season
Jun 1
1 Jun 2024 - 29 Jun 2024 Icc Men's T20 World Cup
Jun 14
14 Jun 2024 - 14 Jul 2024 Uefa Euro
Jun 15
15 Jun 2024 - 25 Jun 2024 Ofc Nations Cup
Jun 20
20 Jun 2024 - 14 Jul 2024 Copa América
View All Events