Posted 7 months ago

Cricket General

Top 7 teams at the 2023 ODI World Cup will qualify for the 2025 Champions Trophy.

Top 7 teams at the 2023 ODI World Cup will qualify for the 2025 Champions Trophy.
1 0 1 106 0

The 2025 ICC Champions Trophy will be the ninth edition of the ICC Champions Trophy, a cricket tournament for the eight top-ranked One Day International (ODI) men's national teams organised by the International Cricket Council (ICC). It will be hosted by Pakistan in February 2025.

The qualification for the Champions Trophy 2025 will be determined based on the outcomes of the 2023 World Cup.

The top seven teams from the league stage, along with hosts Pakistan, will secure their spot in the eight-team event. 

The selection process also means that other Full Member nations like West Indies, Zimbabwe, and Ireland will not even have the opportunity to qualify for the 2025 Champions Trophy, since they didn’t qualify for the 2023 ODI World Cup.

However, many cricket boards also confirmed that being unaware of the selection process they missed making it to the ODI World Cup.

The Structure of the Champions Trophy

The ICC has outlined that the 2025 Champions Trophy will follow a familiar format, featuring two groups of four teams, followed by the semi-finals and final. 

This structure has been successful in past editions of the tournament and is set to provide an exciting contest amongst the world's top cricketing nations.

The Road to Qualification

For the 2013 and 2017 editions of the Champions Trophy, teams qualified based on their rankings at a specific cut-off date in the ODI format. 

However, this time, teams will earn their qualification based on their performance in the ongoing World Cup. 

The ICC's Chief Executives Committee proposed this qualification system, which was subsequently ratified by the ICC Board. 

This decision ensures that teams remain competitive throughout the World Cup, knowing that their performance will directly impact their chances of participating in the 2025 Champions Trophy.

Qualification Pathways for Other Tournaments

The qualification process for the 2027 men's ODI World Cup has also been established. The tournament, which will be co-hosted by South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Namibia, will feature 14 teams. 

The hosts, South Africa and Zimbabwe will automatically qualify, and the remaining eight spots will be determined by the highest-ranked teams as of March 31, 2027. 

Additionally, four teams will earn their place through global qualifier tournaments. This format ensures that teams from all regions have a fair chance to compete in the pinnacle event of ODI cricket.


The qualification system for the 2025 ICC Champions Trophy has added an extra layer of excitement to the ongoing ODI World Cup in India. 

Teams are not only vying for the title but also aiming to secure their place in the prestigious tournament. 

The top seven teams at the end of the World Cup, along with hosts Pakistan, will have the honor of competing in the eight-team event. 

As the tournament progresses, the battle for qualification will intensify, ensuring that cricket fans around the world are kept on the edge of their seats. 

Stay tuned for more updates on the road to the 2025 Champions Trophy.....


Event Calendar

Mar 28
28 Mar 2024 - 29 Sep 2024 Major League Baseball Season
Jun 1
1 Jun 2024 - 29 Jun 2024 Icc Men's T20 World Cup
Jun 14
14 Jun 2024 - 14 Jul 2024 Uefa Euro
Jun 15
15 Jun 2024 - 25 Jun 2024 Ofc Nations Cup
Jun 20
20 Jun 2024 - 14 Jul 2024 Copa América
View All Events