Australia has won the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup title for a record six times.

Cricket ICC Men's World Cup 2023

Australia has won the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup title for a record six times.

Breaking the hearts of over 1.4 billion Indians, Australia has pulled off an upset by beating hosts and undefeated tournament favourites India by six wickets to win the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 title in Ahmedabad and extend their staggering record of title wins to six times.

The calm but experienced Australian side sailed to a comfortable win despite losing three early wickets in their run chase at a packed Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Sunday (Nov 19) evening.

After putting into bat first by the Australian, India were in a similar situation in Ahmedabad, where Kohli (54) and Rahul (66) once again came together for a rescue act. However, India’s batting collapse on the biggest stage saw them put up a paltry target of 241 at the end of 50 overs.

Australia’s bowlers, led by Mitchell Starc’s brilliant display of fast bowling with figures of 3-55 in his 10 overs, kept the Indian batting powerhouse at bay with regular dismissals. 

Captain Cummins ended with figures of 2-34 in 10 overs, while fellow seamer Josh Hazlewood had 2-60 in his 10 overs.

Chasing a sub-par total of 241, Australia were off to a shaky start as India knocked back three wickets in the first powerplay. 

Opener David Warner, who was dropped in the first over as the ball went between Virat Kohli and Shubman Gill in the slip cordon, could not capitalise and fell prey to Mohammed Shami. 

Travis Head (137) played the innings of his lifetime by smashing an eloquent century while his partner Marnus Labuschagne (58*) did well to soak the pressure and perform the sheet-anchor job to perfection. 

Their super partnership meant that India never got a sniff of a comeback as the team from Down Under won the match with 42 balls to spare with Glenn Maxwell hitting the winning runs. 

The defeat means India's quest for an ICC trophy continues, having last won the Champions Trophy in 2013.